The U.S. government is temporarily barring passengers on certain nonstop U.S.-bound flights from eight Middle Eastern and North African countries from carrying on laptops, tablets, cameras and some other electronics , according to KIRO News.

A U.S. official told The Associated Press the ban will apply to nonstop flights to the U.S. from 10 international airports serving Cairo in Egypt; Amman in Jordan; Kuwait City in Kuwait; Casablanca in Morocco; Doha in Qatar; Riyadh and Jeddah in Saudi Arabia; Istanbul in Turkey; and Abu Dhabi and Dubai in the United Arab Emirates.

The ban is allegedly based on some sort of threat turned up by the intelligence community. The department of Homeland Security is in the process of alerting all the airlines, which have 96 hours to implement the ban.

Translate (Traducir/Перевод) »